Former minister, deputy and mayor in the list of TMC candidates

Trinamool Congress on Thursday announced its candidate lists for the municipal corporations of Bidhannagar, Chandannagar, Siliguri and Asansol where polls are scheduled for January 22. Bidhannagar’s list includes the two-time former mayor Sabyasachi Dutta, who returned to Trinamool. recently after leaving the party for the BJP in 2019.

A former member of Parliament for Trinamool, Dutta was nominated for the party in Ward 31 of the Bidhannagar Municipal Corporation (BMC). Dutta was mayor of Bidhannagar before switching to the saffron camp in 2019. Krishna Chakraborty, the former chairman of the board of directors of BMC, has also been nominated as the party’s candidate for the next elections.

In Siliguri, former Minister of State Gautam Deb was nominated as the party’s candidate.

The candidate lists were decided at a meeting chaired Thursday by party leader Mamata Banerjee at his Kalighat residence. Trinamool National Secretary General Abhishek Banerjee, senior party colleagues and district leaders where the four civic bodies are located attended the meeting.

Speaking to reporters, the newly appointed Minister of State and Mayor of Kolkata, Firhad Hakim, said: “We looked at three aspects before finalizing the candidates. It was about a sharp image, an ability to win and an acceptability. Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee was present at the meeting and the names were unanimously finalized.

The West Bengal State Election Commission announced on Monday that polls for the municipalities of Siliguri, Chandannagar, Bidhannagar and Asansol will be held on January 22.

According to sources at TMC, some advisers on these civic bodies who lack their own images and who have given the party a bad reputation are likely to be let go.

“Those who have a bad reputation or who haven’t played are very likely not to get the party ticket this time around. The report on our advisers prepared by I-PAC will also play a key role in the selection of candidates, ”another senior TMC executive said on condition of anonymity.

The ruling party had abandoned 39 of 124 sitting councilors in the Dec. 19 elections to the Kolkata Municipal Corporation.

About the author